Guildford Cathedral

Although I only live about 20mins drive away and often visit Guildford, this is the first time I have visited the cathedral since moving into the area nearly 30 years ago.  It is the newest English cathedral to be consecrated at a new site; started in 1937, and delayed by the war, it was eventually consecrated 17th May 1961 with our late Queen and Duke of Edinburgh in attendance.  Modern building techniques in a gothic style give this cathedral one of the lightest and airiest interiors and a high ceiling without the need for buttressing (extra), though compared to the great medieval cathedrals I found this one stark but no less impressive.

I believe my only other visit was with my parents in the late 1960s. This would have been a long trip from Kent (no M25 in those days), but they probably felt it to be worth the effort to see this brick-built heritage building.  

Today the union jack was flying at half-mast as the country is still in mourning, and I took the opportunity to sign the book of condolences before enjoying a peaceful walk around. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.