Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Greetings from the Beach

It's that time of year again to turn one year older. I wasn't looking forward to today. Even with the promise of a day off, I felt a bit down. My biggest problem was that I was going to spend most of the day by myself, just me and my lonesome. But I picked up my courage and followed through with my plans for the day. Last night I filled out a bunch of free birthday deals online and this morning I just had to pick the ones I wanted.

I woke early to get a free breakfast at Denny's with my brother; however that didn't happen. I think my brother was still working on his paper when I called him at 6am. That idea was scrapped and after a bit of wallowing in my own self pity I went to church for a blessing. Msgr. Michael McKiernan presided and I think he may have wondered what I was doing there. If I could've told him my purpose, I would have echoed parts of today's psalm reading saying, "Father, I'm here to rejoice in the house of God for today is my birthday and I have a lot to be thankful for." When I got home I had some breakfast, made some lunch plans with my friend bunnyfem (aka chikenfem), and moved on to the next activity.

Next I was Newport Beach bound. I had a free Sprinkles cupcake with my name on it (of course not literally) and I had to go get it. I picked out a vanilla chocolate cupcake and presented my coupon. Things were starting to pick up and I thought I should go through with my plan of going to the beach. I had contemplated about posting on Facebook if anyone would like to come with me a few days before, but decided not to. I thought everyone would be busy anyway. So I drove to the beach and the weather was great. The forecast said there were going to be clouds, but it was completely clear skies. I sat on a ridge of sand and just watched the waves ebb and flow. In retrospect, it was like watching all my worries for today wash away.

Lunch time was approaching and I had a Veggie Grill coupon to use. I rushed over to UCI, ordered lunch, and crossed the university center bridge to meet bunnyfem. I'm glad I was able to find a friend to spend some time with. We watched a guitar recital at the Beall Center and then I got a tour of my friend's shnazzy office.

By mid afternoon, I went to Starbucks to get my free bday drink. That's a whole other story in itself, but I'll spare you, my faithful reader, from the banality. Here's a Instagram shot instead.

Dinner was spent at my parents' place. We had pancit, corned beef, chicken, and of course rice. A lightly sweetened red velvet cake topped the meal. My aunt and my "auntie" were there too. It was a grand celebration. My brother came later and he gave me a bread recipe book. I was looking at bread books before so it's perfect he got me one.

All in all, it was a great day. I had my rough patches, but as the day progressed I remembered all the goodness in life. That once little kid with a happy go lucky attitude came out to play for a small while. 26 year old me just wishes the kid within would have stayed out longer. There's so much living to do out there. I just have to let go and have fun because at the end of the day I want to say I Lived.

With that thanks for reading and thanks for all your well wishes today. You make life worth enduring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.