An Afternoon at the Theatre

I went to Norwich today to see Les Miserables, which was originally scheduled for 2020, postponed to 2021 due to the pandemic and postponed again to Autumn 2022. I wasn’t sure whether to go (not really appropriate), but the theatre handled it sensitively, starting by asking us to stand for a minute’s silence for the Queen and then playing the National Anthem. So I sang ‘God Save the King’ for the first time along with everyone else. The irony of the audience singing the National Anthem was not lost on me, given a key part of the show is set on the barricades during the anti-monarchist insurrection by Parisian republicans in 1832!!! I enjoyed the performance, although it was probably the weakest of the 4 versions I’ve seen - possibly as a much smaller touring set. In the morning I went to the Cathedral to sign the book of Condolence. It was actually 4 tables with 4 piles each of paper to express your condolences, with another table behind each where you could light a candle for the Queen. I thought it was very accessible and nicely done. I’m not religious, but I do like the amazing buildings and to light a candle for loved ones who’ve died. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.