Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Strange Night Events

No new flowers in my garden yet...this pigeon swooped rather low over me, and I managed to capture him on the rooftop (doesn't look too shaky for a change) :)

Feeling rather odd tired today, after a rather weird night!

Went to bed, and (probably) fell asleep with the light on, which seems to happen to me quite a lot!

Woke up absolutely baking hot at a quarter to three in the morning with the light still on.

I thought I was woken by a strange sound (and as we've had a burglary recently thought I'd check it out). I went to the window to look out and discovered that the streetlights were not working properly, and also the radiator under the window was so hot I almost burnt myself :( I thought I was dreaming....

Went downstairs, and the outside light was on. With my heart thumping, I also still heard the noise that I thought had woken me. I went to get a drink of water to cool down, and realised that the boiler was on (probably the noise).

I got worried and went to the thermostat which was still set at the normal setting to come on twice a day morning and evening (yes, I know heating should be off at this time of year, but it is still cold in the mornings).

I went back to bed and tried to sleep, but still worried. In the end I wrote everything down, and after that I tried to go back to sleep, but didn't get much sleep at all....

So this morning I got up, on a mission to ring the Council first thing and tell them about the streetlights (which were on before I went to bed, because I always look out last thing (its something I've always done!)...

Rang the council, but just as the lady was taking the details she said, 'I wonder if you've had a powercut'??....

BINGO, that would probably explain the heating being on in the middle of the night! I did ring my heating engineer to check it out just in case (and he reckons that was probably the case).


PHEW!! I thought it was all a dream and I was going absolutely mad :(


You are all probably killing yourselves with laughter by now....but it wasn't very funny at the time (and Mr Billy, lucky boy, slept through it all)!

Later I spoke to one of my neighbours, and she said the power was off twice. They have small children, who awoke and complained because the landing light wasn't on...

Thinking about it now, I probably woke when the bedside light came back on after the powercut...

I'm so glad its my day off tomorrow!

Meanwhile, I've got nothing much done this morning, and now its time to get a quick lunch before going to work! Apologies, I am rather behind with comments again.

Happy Thursday folks, at least the sun is shining again :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.