Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

This morning's bus into work ran exactly to schedule and took me a circuitous route round Bedford's garden suburbs which so far, I have failed to explore. For that reason it was interesting. The afternoon bus was extremely late and almost prevented me from joining friends for an early evening walk along the riverbank. Were it not that so many people who had originally signed up for this walk had since pulled out, the organiser may have been less keen to wait for me to get home and join in. As it was, only four of us enjoyed a beautiful 4-mile walk together which ended at exactly the same moment as the daylight. The original plan had been to finish up in a pub and have a meal there. With loads of us, that would have been great, but with only four of us, most didn't think it was worth it, so I am now assembling a late dinner for one from things I have found in odd corners of my kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.