SilverImages

By SilverImages

Falmouth, Custom House Quay

“Every painting is a voyage into a sacred harbour.”
Giotto di Bondone
Leaving K2 to finish off her commission we headed into Falmouth to check out the museum and Art Gallery, quite unexpected little gem I thought. Big enough to have something of interest for a variety of tastes but not so big as to be overwhelming. While K1 stopped to compare notes with the Knit’n’Natter group I headed outside to explore further.
We arranged to meet K2 for one of the highlights of the holiday, a lunchtime Cornish pasty. I’ve tried them in many places, but the only place for me to have one is in Cornwall, they are delicious – preferably sat on a wall, no frills, just me, my pasty and fresh sea air. Maybe something of a nostalgic glow from a visit to Marazion when I was seventeen and survived on Cornish pasties and beer for a week.
Time for more browsing the bookshops and individual shops that lined the streets, plenty of character here; then a wander around the harbour where, sad creature that I am, I was fascinated by the stonework in the harbour walls which seemed to be such a variety of construction. Must have been all too much and
the hot sunshine got the better of me again and it was time to retire and catch up on my reading. No set plans for a meal tonight so we settled on something from the chippy, it’s Friday after all.
Busy day planned tomorrow so an early night tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.