Appearances Can Be Deceptive

This painting shows a view of Stokesay Castle, near Craven Arms, in Shropshire. 

It is ten minutes drive from our new home and I am so happy. 

Owned now by English Heritage, the building is not in fact a castle. It is one of the finest preserved fortified medieval manor houses in the country. It was built in the 13th century as the home of  Laurence of Ludlow, then one of the richest men in England.

It has many fine architectural features and the painting shows to the right of the tower the 17th century gatehouse.

I have visited here several times before and to have such easy access to this, and many other fine historical buildings is genuinely exciting. And yes, that is now twice I have been excited in the last two weeks! I need to be careful, my pacemaker is working overtime.

And it is not a painting either. It's a photograph that I took this afternoon, on a sneaky visit after closing time.

I love it here! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.