Rain

Can you see Jassy?

She isn't real keen on posing for a photo in the rain.

And why does my boat get to park undercover while our primary car is parked on the lawn?

Right now I am suffering from a contradiction. It is pissing down with rain, winter but because we live in the sub tropics it is quite hot. Still I am trying to wear my fleecy PJ's and sweating for it. My English born blood tells me that rain = cold, especially in winter.

Speaking of rain we have had more than our fair share of it over the past 36 hours. I don't know what it in the rain gauge right now but when I left for work this afternoon it was on 40 mm, and it has been raining heavily ever since then. That on top of the 50 mm last night and you can start to see a picture. The river you see running through my back garden is actually from the rainwater tank overflowing. The overflow pipe I installed isn't coping and I can't understand why. Something to think about.

If you are viewing this anytime soon, have a look at this Bureau of Meteorology link for our region. It is coming in thick and fast. Not sure if that link will work later on.

Still, it isn't as bad as it used to be. Our block is on a slight slope with houses behind us. Their runoff used to flow through our backyard and after several attempts and treats to get them to fix their drainage I decided to take matters into my own hands. I dug a trench along the back fence. Now the water all runs behind my shed into my neighbours garden.

I might have to have a look over the fence next time we have a big downfall. My reasoning is that if I am forced to fix the drainage problem then the people behind me will have to too, thereby solving my original issue.

It is now gone 11pm, and I really should be in bed. I got up at 5.30am to go to Jo's Dads house to remove a pile of lawn clippings in the back yard. The new owners asked that we do it before settlement which happens tomorrow. It wasn't in the contract but out of the kindness of my heart I went down there this morning and did two trailer loads of lawn clippings. My back will be aching for days. Blow me down if they didn't then ask for access to the house to clean the carpets. Thankfully Jo said directed them to their solicitor and said no. The settlement is tomorrow at 2.35pm, they can clean the carpets after that.

Sucked in for them making me remove the lawn clippings. Well done Jo.

I might go and read my book for a while now and listen to the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.