Rain

To say that it pissed down today is an understatement. Jo emptied 102mm out of the rain gauge this morning and when I left for work it was back up to 60mm. Our dams are filling very fast and there is chaos on the roads with multiple closures due to flooding. I even had to take a diversion to get to work. The Brisbane river which is supposed to be flood proof now was looking very, very full at high tide.

Life goes on though and dogs need exercise. So I decided to play with Jassy on the concrete in front of the garage, one of the few dry spots in the garden. This short video was the result. Jassy got pretty much soaked and in the end I didn't fare much better. I also got a bit hot because it isn't really all that cold but my jacket is designed for cooler climates.

The excitement when I got to work was that Aaron's car had been caught in a flash flood on the street. It flooded right up to the gear stick and actually started floating away. Poor fellow. Apparently nobody from here ventured out in the rain to help him. It was a couple of fellows from the business across the road that ended up pushing his car to safety.

The media is saying that there is more to come. Or maybe I should say that the media is salivating that there is more to come. I am thinking that the worst has passed though and the main rain band is heading south. I hope it moves away. Part of my shed flooded this morning. Not bad but bad enough to be a bit of a worry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.