Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

I Remember You!

I love being retired! Mr HCB took me out for coffee this morning and we met up with some old friends for a chat. It was a beautiful morning, so asked Mr. HCB to drop me off at a local park so that I could see if there was a good blip there before I did my shopping.

It was wonderful to see blue sky and feel the sun with no cold wind and I must admit I felt a tad overdressed! I was clicking away and took some great photographs, so was wondering how I was going to choose my blip for today.

The top left photograph is just inside Queens Park where lots of people were out enjoying the beautiful weather and the cafe was doing a roaring trade. Queens Park is a public park, located near the Regent Circus area of Swindon town centre. It is about 12 acres in size, with a lake of around 2 acres, and contains many ornamental trees and shrubs. The park has a Garden of Remembrance, officially opened by Princess Elizabeth (now Queen Elizabeth II) on 15 November 1950 and commemorates those who died in World War II.

At the top right is a young couple, who had obviously just got married and the photographer was also taking advantage of the sunshine to take the photographs of the happy couple, with a lovely backdrop.

I was very happy with my photographs of the park and as I left and crossed the road near Holy Rood Church, I saw these workmen and decided then my blip just might have to be a collage. As I stopped to have a word with the tree surgeons, who were all sitting amongst the sawdust, one of them said, "I remember you - you were taking photographs when we were pruning the trees near the Cenotaph!" They asked about my blips so I found the previous one on my iPhone and showed them - they were delighted and said "Now you've got us Al Fresco!" So, here they are in the bottom photograph.

We had a good chat about how trees need looking after and pruning well and how many of the trees in the town had been left to grow too big, because of budget cuts. They asked my name and then introduced themselves to me.

What a lovely group of workmen - they made my day!




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.