GUERNSEY GREY

Well, they say that a change is as good as a rest and having arrived in Guernsey on a dull and grey day, although we know that when the sun shines it is beautiful, today we arrived and it is Guernsey Grey.

I was up at 5 a.m. and excited about our forthcoming trip, but having sat in the queue to get on the ferry for over an hour, I was then getting a bit fed up. The ferry was over half an hour late leaving and then we were told there was a problem with two engines, so I made sure I knew where my life jacket was!!

Once out in the channel, we had rough seas for quite a while, but having taken my anti seasick tablets and eaten several ginger nuts, I was fine. I plugged in my iPod, listened to some music, had a little "nod" and before long St. Peter Port was in view and we had docked.

Mr. & Mrs Tinkerbelle were there to meet us - and they had even put some flags out on one of the traffic islands - so guess Guernsey was pleased to see us!

We went for a walk along Le Grand Havre beach, but it was still rather chilly, so Mrs. Tinkerbelle and I had a hot chocolate while Mr. HCB went into the bird hide for a while. A bit later Mr. Tinkerbelle came to meet us and Mr. HCB treated them to an ice cream - much too cold for us wimpy women! So because grey skies are not that picturesque, here are Mr. Tinkerbelle and Mr. HCB with their ice creams.

I just hope that the weather will be kind to us so that I can show you some better blips - but if not, then so be it - we are happy to be meeting up with friends again and tomorrow we are meeting more friends and then we have a blip meet planned for Sunday.

Without ice cream there would be darkness and chaos.
Don Cardong

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.