A slice of Derbyshire.


Firstly, I should like to thank you all for viewing and leaving comments on my ducklings yesterday. (I've just found another mother on a nest! ). The ducklings were really well received and you lifted them into the spotlight.

For the first time, I am unable to reply to all your comments individually due to the pressure of jobs I have to do before I set off to France on Saturday.

So this is a global thank you for the wonderful comments you all took the time to leave. I have read them all and one thing I noticed was how much you enjoyed the accompanying text. Thanks everyone!!

Today has been our first real Spring day. This afternoon I went back to the quarry I blipped on Tuesday to see it in daylight.

The blip shows the impact man is having on the countryside in the Peak District National Park. It also shows the geology of the land to a depth of several hundred feet. This picture just shows a small part of the active quarry faces.

To give an idea of scale. An average person would be as tall as one half of a wheel on the massive trucks you can see at the quarry face!! View LARGE to see them clearly. The trucks are about 25 feet high.

With the tree in the foreground, it is quite a juxtaposition of the work of man and nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.