T.S.S

Endoscopy  day. Got up early so I could have something to eat as I had to leave 6 hrs between eating and having the endoscopy. Pottered around doing odd chores - trying to take my mind off what was to come.

Taxi arrived at 1.15pm and we headed for TSS - Tyneside Surgical Services.  It's a new-ish facility which opened in January this year. I hadn't even heard of it until I was booked in here for my procedure.  Its purpose is to boost NHS capacity by helping to take on procedures which can be dealt with without requiring a patient to be admitted to hospital overnight.  It aims to  help the NHS bring down massive waiting lists and make it easier for patients across the North East to get vital treatments.

The place was very quiet.  Lots of staff but I only saw two other patients while I was there. The staff were lovely and I couldn't fault the attention I received.  However the procedure was terrible.  I hated every second of it. I didn't have sedation due to not being able to have someone with me for 24 hrs so I had the numbing throat spray.  The main problem was that - according to the consultant -  I have very strong throat muscles which caused cricopharyngeal  spasms ( what a mouthful ) so he found it impossible to get the camera down.  He tried a few times but I couldn't swallow to let it go down.  Then he tried a trick he had learned - he sprayed some water down my throat which made me swallow --- and the camera went down.  All the time this was going on I just felt like I was choking and it was very painful.  I was so thankful when it was all over. 

Diagnosis ... Large Hiatus Hernia, Reflux Oesophagitis with ulceration, Gastritis ( inflammation of the lining of the stomach)  - and possible Helicobacter Pylori infection.  They took a biopsy to test for infection and I may need antibiotics to clear it. Thankfully they didn't find anything more serious.

I sat for a while in recovery and then a taxi turned up to take me home. I got home around 3.30pm. The throat spray had worn off by this time and  I was able to have a drink and something to eat.  My throat is still sore this evening but not too bad really - considering.

I spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing and watching TV.  Then I made chicken, lentil and butterbean stew for my tea.  Real comfort food.

Steps today - 3,930

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.