1 Minutes Silence @ 20:00

Went along to Hardwicke RBL Club this evening for the national 1 minute silence for HM Queen Elizabeth II.
My old friend, Bill, was there. We both served in Masirah, Oman, but not at the same time, and we were both telegraphists (morse code and all that).
His wife Carol (MBE) was there along with another rider, Lez. Lez is the one that did the Lands End to John O'Groats to Lands End, over 2 days, quite a feat.
We spent some time chatting, then joined the crowd, about 30 people, to be brought to attention for the minutes silence.

And the forage cap? or 'Chip Bag' as we used to refer to it. My beret was in my bike top box, to make sure I didn't forget it tonight. Of course, my tyres are delayed so I've still got the courtesy bike so I dug out my alternative, the forage cap.
Always puts me in mind of mechanics on Hurricanes and Spitfires during the Battle of Britain but when I joined up, in 1965, we were still issued with these caps, along with a beret and the SD (peaked cap worn with No. 1 dress). Lucky I had it because I don't have another RAF beret. This is my original one too, it still says 'Commcen - (service number) David J Rose' inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.