Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Beach Day

Monday, 12th Sep

I arrived on the Isle of Wight yesterday and I’ll be here until Friday. My main reason for being here is to take Alfie the Campervan back to the converters. After 5 years I’ve finally decided to have a solar panel fitted. It will help to keep both the leisure battery and the car battery in good condition, and it will give me more flexibility with camping for longer periods without being on electric hookup. Alfie had a few other minor upgrades and checks, and so I dropped him off and was given a courtesy car for the day.

I visited two different beaches. The top left picture is of Freshwater Bay. I was there during my last visit during a storm and enjoyed watching some surfers then, but today it was calmer. I had a picnic lunch overlooking the beach and watched some paddle boarders in the bay.

I drove from there to another beach - Colwell Bay. I really love beach huts so I was delighted to see several different kinds of huts. I only saw 3 huts being used on this grey day. I’d LOVE to have use of a beach hut on a day like today!

There was an expensive-looking fish restaurant on the beach, which I’d love to try on another day. There was also a cafe overlooking the beach, and I almost got some tea and cake there, but opted for an ice-cream instead, which I enjoyed while sitting on a wall overlooking the beach. It just then started spitting with rain, so a quintessential day at the beach in England!! A perfect visit to the beach, nonetheless!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.