Desperately seeking

By clickychick

The King And I

.... or rather, Prince Charles, My Guides and I.

On 17th May, 1977 Prince Charles came to our village to an event at Greystoke Castle but I'm not sure exactly why. I'd only just moved to the village.

My Guide Company, 1st Penrith and 6th Penrith had their patrol leaders at the event and the Prince came over to talk to us. He was asking the guides about their badges. I'm the faint figure top right, standing behind the guides. Fred, our local photographer came along and this is one of his spare shots. The one used for the newspaper had better definition, but I was cropped off!

So now, as I post this, we are within an hour of our period of National Mourning ending. Tomorrow the country will start to get back to normal and our new King and our new Prime Minister will be able to start their new roles.

 I've had the TV on all day and followed the Funeral of Queen Elizabeth II. It's the second monarch's death in my lifetime but, as I was only 4 weeks old, I have no memory of King George VI.

I've used my Emma Bridgewater tea towel as the background as red featured such a lot in the uniforms today. I've also hunted out my Guide badge, tie and Commonwealth badge. Like thousands seen today, I also pledged my allegiance to Her Majesty.

"I promise that I will do my best, to do my duty to God 
To serve The Queen,
And to help other people,
And to keep the Guide Law.!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.