Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nearly there

The male cardinals are looking infinitely better than they did a month ago when they were missing significant patches of feathers and most of their crests.  This male has almost got his gorgeous red uniform back, including the jaunty crest.  In another few weeks he will look perfect.  

I ran out and got my covid booster today - the new one that is designed for the newest Omicron variants.  I feel fine right now, but if this goes per usual, I will wake up tonight with a headache and spend most of tomorrow in a lethargic stupor.  Fortunately, I have Jax scheduled for daycare tomorrow.  I had also hoped to get my hair trimmed today but that didn't happen so I will remain shaggy for a few more days.  

I've been stewing over something the last few days and I just need to vent, so here goes (feel free to skip).  The Governor of Florida ... he spent $12MILLION dollars chartering planes to take a group of migrants from Texas to Martha's Vineyard.  If I lived in FL, I would be enraged at this mis-use of tax payer dollars.  As it is, I am enraged that he would play with the lives of human beings in this way, all to make a political statement.  Most of the migrants were from Venezuela and fled from that country in fear of the lives of themselves and their families.  And at least some of them had turned themselves in after entering the US as part of the process (legally) to seek asylum.  And this jackass from FL decides that it is an appropriate use of money to send a plane from his state to another state, swoop up a bunch of migrants, and deliver them to a wealthy neighborhood in a "liberal" state.  With absolutely no apparent regard for the fact that these aren't political pawns, they are real, live humans.  It's inhumane, it's racist, and it makes me SO angry.  Don't get me wrong - I love my country, but I will be the first to say that the political divide has passed the boundaries of what is acceptable.  As a country we should be so much better than this.  I have a handful of friends who are indigenous people - everyone else I know, conservative or liberal, comes from immigrant stock.  Make of that what you will.  

Oh, I am definitely going to have something dark now - maybe with ginger.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.