Koru

Early this afternoon, I heard a Tui call from near the widow of my study. Opened the door onto the small balcony to try and see it. Because we have yet to replace the damaged supports (waiting for when the next stage begins) I don't venture out. Tui, as per usual, was nowhere to be seen.

Then a flash of white and largeness landed in a tree across the other side of the road. I could just make out a large pale coloured bird high in a tree, well back from the road. I was able to get an unobstructed view of the back of a Kereru, which is today's Extra.

Looking around, I saw a number of unfolding fronds on the large Ponga beside the garage. The shape is called Koru in Te Reo Maori (the Maori language), and is an important element in much of traditional Maori art. And current art as well. For us here in Aotearoa/New Zealand, it is an instantly recognisable shape, and one that warms us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.