The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The anti-slavery arch

I believe this is the only monument of its kind in the UK. Erected to commemorate the abolition of slavery in the UK, it stood at the entrance to Farmhill park, a country house and estate. Now it guards the entrance to a council housing estate and the comprehensive school, named Archway after the ....arch. There is still a street named Farmhill park. 

The arch fell into disrepair but was restored in the noughties by the efforts of the Stroud Preservation society. 

And why today,? you ask. You've blipped this before. Well, I went by bus to a community centre with a client. We met another client there. We got some lunch. We got some food bank parcels. We were joined by a potential client who likes motorbikes. I made some benefit phone calls for clients. Eventually the original client and I went off to catch the bus back. He panicked because he thought he'd lost his bus pass. I found it, but the bus didn't come and it didn't come. We waited almost an hour, fortunately in the sunshine. We had a brilliant view of the arch. Hence my not brilliant  photo. 

Eventually I got back to work and started writing up notes. But oh dear! My ledger said I had another visit. I nipped up the hill. Didn't leave till way past my 'closing time'. 

Good work was done today, so that's what matters. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.