The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Michaelmas daisies and brave strangers*

I finished work at 1.30 today because it's Tuesday, and, as the twins' parents didn't need me today, and nor did nursery, I went to the supermarket, followed by the park, where I ate my picnic lunch and read my book somewhere near the lake, though I couldn't actually see it.

From there I went for a walk up to the old Orangery at the mansion (now the museum) and that's where I snapped the Michaelmas daisies in the border. I was surprised to realise that it's almost the end of September: we've had a few balmy golden days so I've lost touch with the seasons, which are not predictable now..

I walked on through the woodlands and crossed the miniature railway line. Half a dozen of the society of model engineers, mostly elderly men and one lonely wife sitting on a bench, were putting a shiny green model engine through its paces. It was about to be put onto the turntable. The railway in Stroud's Stratford park is quite elaborate, though the trains are only run for children to ride on once a month, by the aforementioned model engineers.

From the park I walked back past my school, up into town and and beyond, delivering a few brochures en route. 11.5 thousand steps thus far. When I arrived home I found that Steve had, over the course of two afternoons, strimmed the entire back garden. He'd raked the trimmings into heaps. I put on a Bob Seger album (Stranger in Town, 1978) and my Bluetooth speaker, sang along very badly, and filled Nine and a Half black bags with the spoils. I had to stop only because it was getting dark. I have vowed never again to do that much bagging at once. It's a killer for my back, and it's a cruelty to the neighbours to have to put up with my dreadful singing.

*Brave strangers is one of the songs on the Stranger in town album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.