Two Jobs...

...in the garden.  Jan worked on her raised bed while I harvested potatoes.  Once I'd picked all the potatoes in 4 of the raised beds I came over to help with the frame.  Jan had done most of the heavy work so once there were two of us the leveling up and finishing off went quickly.
The potatoes are of two varieties. The red ones are "asterix" and the lighter ones are "amandine". Both are well suited to our northern climate and apparently keep well. I know that's true for the amndine because I grew them last year and we were still eating them at the end of the winter in April.  In the picture they are washed and drying.  I store them in our earth cellar in the brown bags you see here.
The raised bed is to hold two buddleja bushes Jan was given.  
We had a long discussion about spelling that word. Buddleja is the Swedish spelling, originating with the botanist Linnaeus, with the English spelling I'm used to being buddleia. However, according to Wikipedia...
"The International Code of Botanical Nomenclature has gradually changed to incorporate stricter rules about orthographic variants and as of the 2006 edition requires (article 60, particularly 60.5) that Linnaeus' spelling should be followed in this case." So, I decided to go with the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature!!
In the evening I was at a meeting in town but when I got home I joined a zoom meeting where Flashcube was leading a zoom session doing a zentangle. Jan had done two copies so when I arrived home I could take over one of them and enjoy doing at least half a zentangle drawing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.