Cleaning boots

After any week away there is a lot of cleaning up to do. One of the jobs today was cleaning my boots and giving them a good coating of leather treatment. We went over some very damp ground on our last trip. Not only were the boots squelching a couple of centimetres into the marsh, but the long grass we walked through was also totally soaked - a tough environment for footwear, and one boot let a little water in. Hence the thorough application of dubbin now.
In my picture one boot is done. I'd just started the other when I had the idea for the picture.
I really like applying leather food. I use my hands because it warms the fat and you can feel how much is needed. It turns a chore into a sensual experience! Once a boot is coated I leave it a while and when the dubbin has soaked in I give it a brief rub with a cloth to add a little shine.
Next weekend we have another trip planned, an opportunity to try out some of the changes we have made, and another two or three nights of “van life”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.