Aldeburgh and Sutton Hoo

My collage is from Aldeburgh this morning. I don’t know what the temperature was, but it was warm with blue skies and definitely t-shirt weather. A lovely little town. Then this afternoon we went to Sutton Hoo, somewhere I’ve wanted to go for ages. We did the free 1hour tour of the royal burial ground and our guide from the Sutton Hoo society was excellent. I’ve included an extra of one of the replicas of items found at the Anglo-Saxon ship burial site, the actual items being in the British Museum. Lots more to see and do here than I expected, and it was all looking splendid after the works undertaken following the £1.8m award by the National Lottery Heritage Fund in 2017. We were even treated to a fab murmuration of starlings when standing on the ship burial mound. A lovely day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.