Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Can you see the wood for the trees?

First thing this morning, Mum could not put weight on her right ankle. She had had no further injury. The area above her ankle was a bit puffy, tender and warm. Probably the start of cellulitis, but no reddening because the bruise from her hip reaches to her foot!

I asked to speak to a GP. The call came at lunchtime. I could tell she was not impressed with my diagnosis and thought it was due to the bruising. I had the temerity to suggest that she might need to see the offending ankle…. She said she would ask a para medic if he would attend.

By the time he was coming, I was due to go to Haydon Bridge for my Covid jab. No, we could not ask him to come later, I was informed rather sharply by the most junior member of the reception team. She needs to learn from the rest of our lovely receptionists.

I phoned the vaccine centre. Could I go late? They promised to get back to me. (They didn’t!)

The paramedic was lovely. Thankfully he agreed that infection was probably lurking and recommended that the GP prescribed an antibiotic.

I shot off to Haydon Bridge where they allowed me to go in late. The system there was working like clockwork. I had my ‘flu jab too. Hooray.

On my way home, I stopped the car by this wood near Allerwash. I think the trees invite you to enter. It’s sadly private land.

My other job today was to set up a PowerPoint presentation for Margret (next door). I put all her images in via the PhotoAlbum command. She spent the rest of the morning adding text. Then she managed to lose the whole file while saving it. I did search, but it was gone and we started again. Poor Margret.

So far I have no symptoms from the jabs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.