Sin!

I had a solo trip down town for breakfast this morning as S was feeling a bit poorly with a sore throat and some other symptoms (Covid test negative). I went to Nero as hadn’t been for ages and glad to see the trainee wasn’t working. If she had I would have gone elsewhere. I know they have to learn but being of the fussy variety of my cappuccino isn’t made of the third, third third of each of the ingredients then I cants drink it and it’s too expensive to waste.

It was such a fabulous autumn day. I walked down by the river, passed by the museum and went it. There was an exhibition on Sin, with various exhibits and then this blackboard wall inviting people to come fess their sins. Some were hilarious and a few quite poignant. A few I could relate to. The one where the person stole money from a piggy bank in the house and blamed the brother. I did this. I would take a sixpence out a few times a week and buy myself sweets. I even stole lots one time and went to the drapers shop that sold gifts as well and bought mum for her birthday a white China hanging heart shaped ornament that said in red writing:

‘Mother’
You can only have one Mother
Patient, kind and true
No one else in all the world
Will mean as much to You

(Ps my mum did NOT have patience)!

I didn’t feel any guilt in giving her a gift that she had paid for with her own savings :). Not then. I don’t feel it was a sin. More just naughty :)

One day she counted the sixpences and found that the total had reduced greatly from the last time she counted aaaargh!! I did blame my brother but she didn’t believe me. Probably had something to do with his age….. he’s five years younger than me and I was 9.

Anyway, I wandered home via the library, stopping off to flick through a big travel book I saw last time I was in.

Up at mum’s - she’s getting her Covid and flu on Tuesday and giving her instructions already…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.