Photogen

By Photogen

What about me?

Something completely different today. I set up my Canon HD Camcorder on a tripod in a room at the back of the house, swung up the window and trained the lens on the plot about 20 ft away where I have the bird feeders. This camera has a 10x optical zoom and it can take still photos. I was interested to see how it would perform in this situation and if the birds would accept it. The overcast lighting was fine and I shot off a series of pictures of bluetits, pigeons, robins, starlings - and this pair of charmers, in the space of 10 minutes.

I chose this shot because I love this blackbird's song and I also enjoy listening to the dunnocks as well. This is a dunnock peeking out from behind the daffodil leaves, as if it wants to get in on the act but it not quite sure! Shyness is typical of these small brown and grey birds. Quiet and unobtrusive, they move with a rather nervous, shuffling gait, often flicking their wings as they go. The main call is a shrill, persistent "tseep" and a high trilling note, but the song is rapid and tinkling, a beautiful sweet warble. Click here and there is a recording on the page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.