Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The birthday boy and his boys

Today is Gavin's birthday - he hates celebrating his birthday, its just a reminder of being another year older. The novelty of birthdays soon wears off as we get older and older, doesn't it?

He had his last long run before the marathon this morning, and then after breakfast we walked Xena. 

We drove to London to meet everyone for lunch to celebrate Gavin's birthday. London is a convenient place to meet as its only 50 minutes there by train from Cambridge, and so is a very central location for all the family. We went to Chutney Mary, a well established Indian restaurant, for lunch. the food was excellent and it suits everyone's dietary requirements as many dishes are vegan/vegetarian. 

After lunch I took some photos of the boys. For my birthday last month the boys gave me some beautiful silver frames, antique ones that they had chosen from the London Silver Vaults, and so I wanted some current photos of them to place in these frames. I also took this one of Gavin and his boys.

The next time I see the boys will be next week at the marathon. It is a bit of a logistical nightmare trying to work out where to stand to see them, as for us non runners it will be a long day as Adam has a much later starting time than the others and he will be running a slower pace, so there will be a few hours gap between the first one of the family to finish and the last one.

When we got home I had a long phone call with my sister in SA, and it's already quite late so I will catch up with journals tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.