The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

I'm Toast

It seems to be a week for spontaneous visits to places. By three o'clock we had done all we could feasibly do for the day, and the sky was once again untarnished by cloud we decided to get some fresh air.

We headed to Cosmeston Lakes, somewhere we haven't been for two years. I have no idea why not, as it is less than half an hour away from here, and it is a wonderful place to visit.

We had a stroll around the lake. It was pretty busy down there. I couldn't resist taking a few shots of bubbles that were being made by a young family there. This was oh so nearly my blip, but in the end I had a choice of two really.

People tend to forget that there is an evening chorus as well as a dawn chorus. As we got there so late in the afternoon it was just kicking off as we were heading home. The tree tops were full of singing birds, and we had a go at brushing up on our ID skills. I am must confess being half deaf does not improve your chances of IDing bird song, but we could pick out Robin and Blackbird, and the explosive bursts of Wrens from the undergrowth. We saw a Blackcap giving it some from a branch, and this Robin photo was second choice for my blip.

In the end, I had to chose this cheeky squirrel running off with a whole slice of toast! It just looked so funny! God only knows what we did with it when he got out of sight. It was a fairly big meal!

Isn't it nice to get out in a bit of sunlight for once!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.