The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

On And On South Of Heaven

Every so often something stops you utterly in your tracks.

Today I had one of those moments. I had gotten up, had breakfast and logged into Twitter and was stunned to read of the death of Slayer guitarist Jeff Hanneman.

Slayer have been a huge part of my musical growing up if you like. The second gig I ever saw was Slayer - Root Of All Evil tour in 1988 or '89. I still had the T shirt until recently when it finally fell apart.

That was, and still is, one the best nights of my life. I can remember almost as if it was yesterday the eager anticipation as the house lights went down and the opening chords of South Of Heaven thundered through the PA system. A giant inverted cross made from spotlights lowered from the ceiling and pulsed in time with the riff. They blew me away that night and continued to do so every time I saw them on every tour since. No one can hold a candle to them. They are the ultimate heavy metal band, and are so incredibly tight live. Both Jeff and Kerry King swapping solos like sabre sword fighters duelling.

The album Reign In Blood is the greatest heavy metal album released in my opinion, with South Of Heaven a close second.

Jeff Hannamen died from complications from a spider bite which led to the flesh eating disease necrotizing facilitus which in turn led to chronic liver failure.

I for one will miss him, and I have had a day listening to Slayer rather loudly. A massive influence on my life, incredible considering I never met him.

Jeff Hanneman .. may you Reign In Blood!
(January 31st 1964 - May 2nd 2013)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.