Plus ça change...

By SooB

Fair to Middlin'

Spotted this in a house wall in North Berwick. I must have walked by it a hundred times and not seen it - and it's not exactly small.

Anyway, I'm trying to work out whether it's moving from Fair to Changeable or whether it's Changing to Fair. We had a couple of these on the wall above the telly when I was a kid (who am I kidding - they're still there. Oh, they're smaller than this, obviously). Anyway, to make them work right you had to tap them on the front. Or, at least, that's what my dad always did so I have always presumed it was an essential part of the job. As I wandered by it was hard to resist the urge to run up their front steps and give this a thump to check it was working properly.

Another mad busy day. I honestly don't know how you folk with proper jobs ever find time for blip. Or, indeed, eating. I'm sure I never worked this hard when I was being paid - hmmmm. Something's wrong with that equation....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.