Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Packsaddle Bridge

I returned to Pullabrook Woods where I went a few weeks ago in very different weather. This time I set out at a good pace to get to this bridge, more commonly known as Hisley Bridge. The walk itself was through woodland that is being improved by the Woodland Trust and at the moment it's not that exciting with a large amount of conifers.

The bridge is thought to be medieval in origin with a pronounced arched roadway. It's a packhorse bridge with low walls to allow the pack to pass over easily. The woods around the bridge are much more interesting and the walk back along the bank of the Bovey River is much more interesting. I sat by the bank to have my coffee hoping a Dipper might sit on the large stone in the river but no such luck. There are Bluebells out making a nice display in places too.

A lovely morning and a nice walk. Hope you're set to enjoy the long weekend.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.