0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Red-Bearded Somalian.


I was out early today as I knew I wouldn't have time later this afternoon due to some boring, menial tasks I had to get done.

I caught the site of Osman's hat first of all. He was turned away, stood at a bus stop waiting I presumed. I decided to approach him, without seeing or knowing what I may find. As he turned round I caught the flash of his red beard and his weathered face, I thought 'Wow'. I asked him for his picture and he agreed, not saying a word just softly nodding.

After I fired of a few shots and thought I had enough I tried to engage in some conversation. I tried to tell him that I liked the colours in his beard and how he got it like that, and that I particularly liked his hat. His English was not fluent however but the minimum I got out of him was that his name was Osman and he was from Somalia, Africa.

I was intrigued by the colour of his beard so much that I did some background research and found that the red/orange beard is actually a popular 'style' in Somalian men. The first hit I got was titled 'Ask a Somali: What's with the orange beards?' which made me smile - here it is :)

Have a great (long) weekend everyone!!!


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.