0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

For two days running I have selected subjects who have had little to no grasp of English, meaning my conversation with them was literally non-existent. On the other hand however, I've managed to get some decent portraits so I'm not really complaining, just an observation.

I had the dilemma of selecting which portrait to post today. There were these two gents walking past and once I had asked them for a picture they both stood upright looking intensely at the camera.

It was actually this guy with the turban who I had my eye on (apart from the turban, just look at the colours going on), but when I looked through my viewfinder the other gent was also primed for a picture. I therefore ended up taking pictures of them both, selecting the above as my primary and this as my secondary. Did I make the right choice? I'd love to know.

I have no idea where these guys were from and what they were doing in Leeds, but they were really happy to be asked for their pictures, and even more so when they saw the results in camera - I aim to please ;)

On a technical note, the eyes in this shot are slightly out of the focus zone, just marginally but noticeable (and annoyingly to me). As I seemed to be shooting slightly downwards, at an angle, and the subjects face is also angled, the camera selected his hair as the focal plane. Which is why his forehead, almost up to his eye brows are in focus but at the eyes it starts to de-focus. Had I the time, I would have manually focused on the eyes.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.