Virginia Vacation ...

... Day 3.

What a great day we had!  Spent in the company of some wonderful fellow blippers! 

Months ago when we made our vacation plans for Virginia I had hoped to set up a blipmeet with photomatt, wrperry and osuzanna at Huntley Meadows Park.  I've always been in awe of the photos that they often post from this park and I wanted to check it out myself.  The resort we are staying in is about an hour south of Huntley Meadows so I reached out to each of them to see if they would be interested in meeting at Huntley Meadows.  And happily they all were on board!  Yay!

We all met in the parking lot at 8 am and the blipmeet began!  The park offers a really nice boardwalk that we followed ... stopping to take photos along the way.  Matt was great at finding all the little tree frogs like the one in my photo.  And when I say little I mean little ... he/she is no bigger than a green grape!  

We spent a good 3 1/2 hours at the park ... it was just so nice to be able to meet up again.  The last blipmeet we all attended was in New Orleans in 2019.  Hopefully it won't be so long between blipmeets.

I have a couple of vacation days to fill in but I wanted to get some of my pictures posted ... especially this blipmeet.   Please view in gallery view.  Backblipped: Sept 27, 2022. 

Extra Photo and note: Added November 21, 2022.
After returning from our wonderful blipmeet at Huntley Meadows we toured the Civil War Battlefield called Wilderness Battlefield and Ellwood Manor.  I was particularly interested in this site as it’s the burial place of Thomas “Stonewall” Jackson’s arm (yes, just his arm!) that he lost during the Chancellorsville Battle.  It’s a fascination story that I can’t begin to tell on my own.  Here's the story.

The collage in Extras is of Ellwood Manor, the arm’s monument/burial place and the beautiful sunrise we saw on our way to Huntley Meadows this morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.