Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Limestone Waxcap

After a day of data entry, analysis and map drawing, I was in need of a leg stretch so headed out to Swaddywell NR in the late afternoon. For the first time this year I was glad of a jumper and rain jacket - the northerly wind was surprisingly chilly. 

We still haven't had much rain and the site is still very dry, though there is some water emerging from the main spring. Despite the conditions, a few waxcaps have emerged in the quarry. I saw a good clump of Blackening Waxcap, a number of Persistent Waxcaps and a small clump of this species. Having looked at it closely, I'm pretty sure it's Limestone Waxcap, a rather uncommon species that I regularly see in similar conditions at Swaddywell NR. Usually it's slightly deeper in colour but can range from orange to scarlet red - this specimen is rather dry which has also affected its appearance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.