Meeting up with our friend.

Thursday is the day I go to meet Bobbie at one of our local garden centre cafés. It is 4 years this month since she had her awful stroke and was in hospital 3 weeks.
I used to go and see her there.
Her speech was completely garbled for the first 6 months, when her daughters arranged a live in help.
They still take it in turns to drive up every weekend to stay, and go back late on Sunday. Given they both have school age children, it’s a big commitment. The children stay at home with the respective partners.
Now 4 years later her speech is still not quite clear, but I’ve got used to kind of translating what she means.
She loves Stephen coming with me and calls him “Your mum”. We’ve just got used to that. I know she wants to use the correct words, and it’s very frustrating for her still.
Her face lit up when she saw him with me.
I do get in touch with her daughters (identical twins!) who live in London and both have children, if I’m ever concerned about anything.
Now we are back at home and will be out again in awhile to go and have some birthday cake with our son, who is 38 yrs old today.
He had his birthday here last year as they were all living with us for a couple of months.
Here’s a link to the birthday “table” at breakfast.
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2889784739940534559

They do not post any photos of the children on social media, and do not use anything like Facebook or Instagram.
I’m still behind with comments!
Time to get ready to go.
They live about 5 minutes away in the car, or a 20-25 minute walk having moved up here from Bristol last year in September. (Long story!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.