Before sunrise

I took this at 6.45 am. The nights are getting longer. It was the only photo I took today.

It rained from 9.45 and is still chucking it down.

I called for Shona to walk with her down to the literature class in the village. It was so enjoyable - I’m glad I joined though I’ll only be able to go to 3 out of the 7 weeks. We read bits from the play ‘Our Country’s Good’ and it was a positive experience as the tutor was an English teacher who had obviously taught the play before. Of course it has led me to research more, not only about the play but also about the early deportations to Australia - on the first ship was a boy of 11. (I hope Liz Truss hadn’t read this.) For next week we have to read “The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith” by Thomas Keneally.

After a quick sandwich I went to Morpeth for my annual optician’s visit. He’s pleased with the results of the various tests and explained that the eye drops for glaucoma won’t cure the condition but they should slow down its progress.

Now I’m trying to finish my Blurb Mull and Shetland photo book and journal. I’m so behind this year. I have yet to start the family year book as well as Italy and Scandinavia.

Tonight we’ll have the fire on and if necessary I can switch on my electric over-blanket. I really don’t know how so many low income people will manage this winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.