Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Roses

We woke to rain and wind this morning - glad I got the laundry washed and dry yesterday.  When we were contemplating a move to Ireland, more than one person warned us it was very wet.  We have had several holidays here, and been very lucky with the weather.  And we responded to our Jonah's that we would have plenty to do inside when it rained.

We didn't really foresee this hiatus, in rental, which means that W hasn't got his woodworking equipment.  I'm ok - after some admin this morning, including (during a fortunate break in the downpour) selling the roof box to a local chap who brought cash (my daughters tell me that trying to pay through DPD - as mentioned yesterday - is a well known scam) I spent more time on my crafting.  W sorted, and ironed, yesterday's laundry.  And then sorted out the loose shelf above the washbasin in the shower room.

I took photos of my latest crafting, and it seemed likely these would be my blip.  But late afternoon the doorbell rang, and our landlord was there, with a "gardener" assistant.  They were "pruning" the roses around the tarmacadam in the back - with a CHAINSAW!!! - and suggested we might like to rescue a few of the last flowers.  So we did.  We also said that if our landlord supplied secateurs, we would prune the ones he left because they were still flowering abundantly.  He told us he was too superstitious to give us a sharp implement, but he would "get round it" somehow.  He and his assistant were rained off shortly after - the job is not finished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.