Sunshine and shade

A better day than forecast, which is always good! We came down to breakfast and sat looking out over the view. In the distance, about a mile away, is Appleby Castle. The sun was shining on one flank of the building, so while waiting for the meal I slipped back to my room for my camera.

Every time I opened the door out on to the terrace the sun went in and every time I came in the sun came out! Eventually I got the picture I wanted. 

We drove down to the town to have a look around - a small, but interesting market, some lovely old buildings and a beautiful riverside walk. Then we went on to the NT garden at Acorn Bank, stopping for a trip for lunch to a nearby pub.

Altogether a good day - next stop dinner with the family!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.