East of Eden

We arrived in Appleby for Mrs M's family reunion after what might have been the worst road journey ever! Torrential rain, flooded roads, fallen trees and finally a motorway where the spray was so horrendous that even hi-speed wipers couldn't penetrate it!

The sun came out when we arrived and after settling in I walked the twenty minutes or so down to the town - I hadn't realised that the Appleby Manor Hotel was not actually in Appleby! I also hadn't realised that the town was on the Settle-Carlisle railway. I crossed the railway and walked down to the River Eden.

We enjoyed the evening with the group - eleven in all - and went gratefully off to bed. Tomorrow we're all doing our own thing - Mrs M and I will visit the Appleby market and maybe go on to the NT garden at Acorn Bank. Back in the evening for the dinner party!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.