Home

Being home again feels strange. I miss the sea outside the window and the boats passing by, not to mention the allure of a ‘dook’ 10 minutes up the Street. Still, I had coffee and a half share of a blueberry bun with one of my Merry Widows over an exchange of 5 weeks worth of news this morning. Erlend Flett, the small bear with attitude joined us and I have to report his behaviour was exemplary as he sat observing life in the café which will become more familiar to him over the next 8 months than Julia’s Shed in Stromness .

Later I had a walk round the Marches to check that things were as I had left them. It was interesting to see that nothing had changed- the trees in the Meadows still had their leaves although the horse chestnut tree had shed all it’s conkers and one tree had lost a limb to Friday’s foul weather. I had a seat in the sun at the tennis courts watching play. Wimbledon it ain’t but I have no reason to criticise being unable to even see over the net.

I had a visitor this morning in the shape of an enormous spider with very long legs in my sink. I presume it had crawled up the waste pipe but however it gained access it was ushered out indecorously in a tumbler. to the patio.

Now I have to take some beremeal biscuits to a neighbour who has been looking after my very large thirsty Peace Lily for the past month.


Erlend has found his Happy Place in the window

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.