Bulbs for Christmas

Went via Petersfield where I picked up Martin’s book and then on to see Mum in a race with her needing to leave for her booster.  We actually had time for a cup of coffee in the sun in the conservatory.   Diverted via Hillier's to see if they had any forced hyacinth bulbs so I could get some started in my glass vases and they did!  I lined them all up and put them in the cold dark barn. 

Then we drove to Cambridge, a full two and a half hours from here for a lovely evening and night with Jo and Martin.  Always adventurous cooks, they made a delicious Moroccan salads, followed by a Moro dish of beef,  grapes and barley and then an orange cake from one of the superb Sainsbury’s cookbooks from the 80s and 90s that we both collected. This was cooking from Spain by Elizabeth Luard. I haven’t looked at mine for ages apart from a few recipes but I never threw them away.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.