a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Birdsong

I was lucky this morning and managed to spot a Dunnock hiding in one of the bushes.  I was helped, because every now and again he would let loose a short burst of song.  I think Dunnocks are a bit of an under-rated bird, even though they have a lovely warble when in full song.  I guess that this is mainly because they  fall into the category of "yet another small streaky sparrow-like brown bird".

In a perfect world I would have used the 800mm lens and got a better shot of him, but I can't physically manage that lens at the moment.  It might be that there is a very slight easing of the flank pain at the moment, it's not much and I don't want to tempt fate, but perhaps in a few more weeks I might be a bit more mobile.  It is funny, a month ago I would have disregarded this shot, as this is relatively common bird and it wasn't actually in flight.  Now I'm absolutely delighted to have been able to achieve it at all.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.