Living my dream

By Mima

Gladioli

The emerging gladioli are fascinating, with their red sheath and green leaves.

They are going to have a nasty shock in the next few hours, along with everything else, when an Antarctic blast arrives here. It is forecast to bring icy temperatures, snow and southerly gales.

Fortunately Chez Mima will be largely protected from the winds, but it’s still going to be exceptionally cold for a day or two. In anticipation of cosying up in the study with a pile of reading books tomorrow, I spent this afternoon cleaning the room, laying the potbelly stove ready to light first thing in the morning, and filling the log basket.

This morning I picked up a couple of enormous books from the library: a Tim Winton novel and an Inspector Lynley mystery. I also collected a book about cheese making at home, which I intend to read carefully. I’m all set for hours indoors.

Bean and I have had three good walks, because it’s possible that tomorrow’s walk may be very brisk and very brief.

I rather like preparing for minor weather events like this. It’s reassuring to know I’ve done all I can to feel snug - and possibly smug - tomorrow when the snow is falling outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.