Autumn Colour

Other than doing a whole lot of unpacking and laundry after returning home from the cottage....and searching for a last-minute birthday gift for a friend...most of my day was spent playing with colour....

I was so impressed with the autumn leaves on the drive home from the cottage that I was inspired to do the seasonal turnover in my living and dining room...The first item to set the tone of course, had to be a quilt... I don't have quilts built around the traditional autumn colours - gold, orange, green, yellow and brown, (well maybe one, but it is an African theme), but I have three in shades that work and with a few accessories and some outdoor autumn things brought in from the garden or elsewhere ..voila! I am surrounded by the colours of the season.(extra)

I have a terrible, no-fun task ahead of me and that is to launder all the white slip covers in the living room. Yikes! They are terrible to put back on as they were a tight fit to start with and each washing has not helped! No dryer allowed either, so I have to drape them over tables and temporary indoor clothes lines..and then, I usually have to ask a friend to come in and help me get them back on the furniture! I dread it, but it is past time... At least if I do them now, the furniture underneath them is all upholstered in a boring beige/taupe - which will blend (although boringly) with the autumn-like colours I have chosen!

I intend to go with the traditional autumn colour scheme in my recreation-TV room...the gourds will be a centrepiece on the coffee table and some pumpkins will sit on the hearth of the fireplace.. I have yet to bring out from storage, the three fake pumpkins that a de-cluttering book I read last year allowed me to keep...like, "toss out all those seasonal decorating items that need to be stored..but if you can't bring yourself to do that, keep only three"..so I did..I kept three fake pumpkins.Why? Not sure...The ideal solution would have been to toss them all and buy a couple of real ones each year...no storage issues. Why did I not do that? I do not know, but I think it is time...perhaps I will let these three have their last hurrah..and then off to the pumpkin adoption agency they go... the local Salvation Army.

What a frivolous life I lead....playing when I could be doing something productive and meaningful, but I do have fun doing it..and fun has its merits....right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.