pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Time-Out

I phoned my boss first thing to inform him that I wouldn’t be online today. 

Over the past few days, I’d kept going and pushing myself to “get through the next meeting” and then “the day after that”, but eventually had to accept that I needed a mental time out. I’d let things get on top of me and personal demons, which I thought I had previously slain were rearing up to nibble away at me once more.

The weather was truly awful, so I rounded up the said demons (yes, I know they’re not actually there - I’m not that far gone!) and went for a long walk to a place where I could leave them behind. Despite the fact that I had severely underestimated just how grim it was out there and got soaked through to my skin, the process was quite cathartic and I immediately felt much lighter and better (once the feeling had returned to my extremities) for having dropped them off for the last time. I really don’t need them anymore, although they did help fuel a short story I sat and wrote, which I shall spare you here.

I took it easy for the rest of the day and finally watched Dune (amazing) and This Country (hilarious) before Simmo popped round for an hour this evening for a catch-up.

New day tomorrow and time to get back to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.