Water under the bridges

A dull start to the day - just like home really! My brother and I set off to explore various locations along the River Mole, which rises near Gatwick Airport and flows some 50 miles to its outfall into the Thames at Hampton Court. My Blip today is of two railway bridges spanning the Mole in Leatherhead.

We stopped to explore the beautiful Surrey village of Brockham, through which the Mole flows, and got talking to an elderly lady outside her lovely house. We were telling her where we lived and when I said I lived in Oban and used to be Head Gardener at Arduaine she said 'I know you - your name is Matthew, or Martin, or something beginning with M'. It turned out  that she was originally from Edinburgh, though she had lived here for twenty years, and had visited Arduaine many times and had met me  there! Quite amazing! She invited us in for a cup of tea and we had a great old blether - she was ninety years old! Neither of us could believe the strange and randon way we had met again! 'Small world' is a very common phrase, but a true one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.