Wildlife in the city

I set off from Hampton this morning to take the train into London. I got off at Vauxhall and crossed the bridge and found my way across the city to the Barbican Centre, having wanted to have a look after seeing a Blip of the water and wildlife there a while ago.

It was quite a long walk and when I got closer I was misdirected a few times before finding myself in a multi-story car park! The man at the window told me that no photography was permitted at the Barbican and that if any residents saw me they would come down and make a fuss! However the lady at a desk inside the building told me that it was fine, as long as I didn't use a tripod! In other words, commercial photography is not allowed! It was quite a surprise to see so much 'formal' water in the heart of the city, so that's my Blip today.

I was delighted to see a heron standing on the edge. He didn't seem too concerned either - well used to people, I assume. He's my extra today.

I spoke to a man sweeping the raised walkway and asked if he could show me to the shortest way to the river. 'The river?', he enquired. 'Yes, the River Thames', I replied. He appeared not to have heard of it, explaining that he'd only been here for two weeks! I found my way down to the Millenium Bridge and crossed the river to  the South Bank and made my way slowly back to the station at Waterloo..

A good day but a long pavement-thumping walk! I took 158 photographs too! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.