Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A long way for a short time

It began to rain this morning as we left our B&B, which was rather disappointing, but it wasn't too bad so we took up the invitation from a couple of local Blipfriends and went to their house for a coffee and a look round their lovely garden. I always enjoy seeing so many new and exciting plants growing, rather than the same old stuff that you see so often in gardens! Thank you both for your hospitality!

We then returned to Logan where we met Richard again. As Curator he's leaving on Sunday with a few colleagues on a plant-hunting trip to Vietnam, where he's been before. Very exciting, and no doubt he'll bring back even more wonderful new introductions!

I met the propagator in the garden - Richard had told her that he'd given permission for me to take a few cuttings (!) so she furnished me with plastic bags, labels and a pencil and let me go. I took a few bits and bobs,  but being very aware that I already have too many plants I was very selective! Mrs M & I had a wander round the Woodland Garden for an hour or so and at 1pm we set off back  home, arriving here around 6.30, after a quick lunch stop. 400 miles is really far too much for such a short visit, but it was fun - the visit, not the driving! My Blip today is of some of the team working in the garden - they didn't see me!

Such a wonderful place - I could spend every day for a fortnight and still not see all Logan has to offer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.