The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Do you remember 1973?

The Merrywalks Shopping centre in Stroud was completed 40 years ago this March, with a significant extension added in 2005 for the cinema, bowling alley, and more shops. Unfortunately this meant that Stroud's bus station was built over! It's fashionable for certain people to knock it because the high-end shops aren't there (let's face it, there aren't too many of them in Stroud anyway), but compared with the concrete shopping plazas of the 1960s, it's to me a light and airy place. Plus, it has a roof, always handy when it's raining! I would be lying if I told you I wasn't a regular user of Home Bargains, Wilkinsons, and the Extra Care charity shop! Only the galleried roof structure makes me think of a prison sometimes. (But what do I know, I've only ever been inside Leyhill open prison, and that's nothing like a shopping centre!)

Town was sunny today, and a lot more people than usual were out and about. I did a few errands and pottered around taking photographs. One of the vacant units in the Merrywalks ( formerly St Mary's walk) is being turned into a space for an art installation. Palm trees and a silver survival-blanket tent were being erected. I tried taking photos, but the light was blinding. The passport form had arrived, so I got my photo taken in the talking booth. What with the lady's mechanical voice instructing me briskly, and the ban on sunglasses, smiling and excessive hair, is it any wonder that I ended up looking even more like a frightened war orphan than usual? That's an orphan with one sticking-out ear. I've posted them off, even though I was looking slightly downwards. I'm not in a hurry to leave the country.

Not much else to say, except that I've looked at the results of the election for the county, and seen that Sarah L was the only Green elected. UKIP gained 3 seats in the Forest of Dean, which is worrying. There is no overall majority, so some sort of coalition will have to be formed. Probably an uneasy alliance.

The bank holiday weekend has brought good weather, so I'm out in the cabin with Bomble, who is snoozing on the windowsill. In a minute I'll get the washing off the line, and think about getting together a mint and courgette frittata for supper. Nothing too strenuous, mind.

I've managed to buy three books for peanuts: Minnow on the Say by Philippa Pearce, Memories of a house and Perverse and Foolish by Lucy M. Boston, and Mistress of Charlecote by Somebody Fairfax-Lucy. So, plenty of pages, all with a historical/childhood/old houses theme. These are indeed a few of my favourite things.

Enjoy the weekend, whether it's long, short, or 'regular'. May the sun shine on you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.